PC laptops

Everything that doesn't fit anywhere else!

Postby mnp13 » January 24th, 2006, 9:01 pm

Ok, I will admit I know just about nothing about PC's forget about PC laptops.

I currently have a normal desktop PC, and it has a video thing in it that plays the TV and has a cable port so you can hook up a VCR to it.

it looks similar to this:
Image

Can a laptop use one of those? I don't want to loose my computer room 'tv'

Thanks!
Michelle

Inside me is a thin woman trying to get out. I usually shut the bitch up with a martini.
User avatar
mnp13
Evil Overlord
 
Posts: 17232
Location: Rochester, NY

Postby msvette2u » January 24th, 2006, 10:29 pm

Yes you can plug the TV into the laptop. Or VCR I think. Not sure, we've not tried it but supposedly you can record onto dvd, whatever you're watching on TV with this laptop. We did use my old laptop as a dvd player before we sprung for a regular dvd player :)
The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.
User avatar
msvette2u
I live here
 
Posts: 6812
Location: Eastern WA

Postby mnp13 » January 24th, 2006, 10:54 pm

no, I mean, can I the card shown above in a laptop?

the one I have on my current PC lets me just watch TV. I have an antenna plugged into it and i can record video too. If I plug a camera into the front, I can hit play on the camera and then record it into video on the computerl
Michelle

Inside me is a thin woman trying to get out. I usually shut the bitch up with a martini.
User avatar
mnp13
Evil Overlord
 
Posts: 17232
Location: Rochester, NY

Postby turtle » January 24th, 2006, 11:37 pm

Remember, I know nothing about computers!

But I asked hubby... He said no you can't use that card. He said laptops use "pcmcia" cards and that looks like a standard computer pci card. He says most laptops come with TV hook up...

It's all Greek to me, I just know where the power button is! And Fremiet is better at it than I am...

Image
User avatar
turtle
Loyally Bully
 
Posts: 688

Postby mnp13 » January 24th, 2006, 11:42 pm

it is a standard card... there aren't any laptops that use them?

that's the thing, I don't want a TV hookup. the computer IS my tv. there is nothing to hook up to.
Michelle

Inside me is a thin woman trying to get out. I usually shut the bitch up with a martini.
User avatar
mnp13
Evil Overlord
 
Posts: 17232
Location: Rochester, NY

Postby turtle » January 24th, 2006, 11:51 pm

He says no laptops use standard cards like that. He says they all use those PCMCIA cards or USB or firewire.

He said you would need a card like this one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Laptop-TV-Tuner ... dZViewItem

He says most all newer laptops should be set up for those cards or have one built into it.
User avatar
turtle
Loyally Bully
 
Posts: 688

Postby mnp13 » January 24th, 2006, 11:59 pm

damn it... I just spent a $100 on the one I have. it's less than a year old.

oh well...

please give the hubby a smooch for me!
Michelle

Inside me is a thin woman trying to get out. I usually shut the bitch up with a martini.
User avatar
mnp13
Evil Overlord
 
Posts: 17232
Location: Rochester, NY

Postby turtle » January 25th, 2006, 12:10 am

Glad he could help!

Fremiet wants a cookie! :D
User avatar
turtle
Loyally Bully
 
Posts: 688

Postby Emi » January 25th, 2006, 8:05 am

gf turtle love that picture it's priceless ... :wink3:
User avatar
Emi
Full of Bully
 
Posts: 2068
Location: Houston TX ..


Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]

cron