Score has a torn pad too...

Food, Fitness and how to keep them healthy.

Postby TheRedQueen » March 19th, 2009, 11:18 am

He tore his pads this past weekend at the flyball tournament, it was so wet all weekend...we walked through puddles everywhere we went...and the rest was sandy with pine needles and pokey/sticky gumballs. Not great for bare feet! He's got pretty tough feet, so I wasn't worried.

By the middle of Saturday's racing, I noticed that he was a bit lame in the right rear...but then he took a big poop, so I figured he just had to poo and had a hitch in his get-along. Then he limped more. Checked his feet, after I discovered blood all over my pantlegs (he releases from the tops of my thighs).

He tore a rather good sized hole in his right rear paw pad...the big one. Then a smaller hole on his left rear paw. He was very footsore and had to be pulled by the end of Sunday. I tried wrapping it, but it fell off (I'm not good at wrapping for flyball).

I put some "Protecta-paw" balm on it all weekend, and a few times during this week. He's no longer tender to the touch...but I'm worried because we have another tournament this weekend. I haven't let him run around much this week, so he is staying off the feet unless it's for pottying (no chasing balls on the rocky backyard).

Should I continue to put balm on...or is it better if I let it get roughed over...rather than softening it up? Any opinions? I'm thinking about doing a major wrap job on the back feet for this tournament.
"I don't have any idea if my dogs respect me or not, but they're greedy and I have their stuff." -- Patty Ruzzo

"Dogs don't want to control people. They want to control their own lives." --John Bradshaw
TheRedQueen
I thought I lost my Wiener... but then I found him.

Postby Hundilein » March 19th, 2009, 12:01 pm