Total Newbie

Please tell us about yourself! You will not be able to post on the rest of the board until you have posted here

Postby FAB dogs » December 8th, 2010, 7:30 pm

Hi guys

I’m a newbie here because I suddenly find myself foster mom to a 4-6 month old pittie puppy and it‘s totally new territory for me. I’ve always been more of a northern breed person and until recently I had huskies of my own and fostered for husky rescue. The Red Queen may remember me and my husky tales from the Acme board ( :wave2: hi Erin!).

This fall, I lost both of my huskies within six weeks of each other, leaving me with a 2 year old husky/terrier mix (high energy, free spirited, reactive with some dogs) and a 6 month old terrier/retriever mix (isolated the first 8 weeks of life, shy in new situations, soft/gentle dog). And after being downsized from my job last year, I found myself working at the local animal shelter where I occasionally bring home sick or injured dogs for fostering before sending them on to rescue. Which brings me to my current foster . . .

Fenway, as I’ve taken to calling him, was brought to the shelter as a stray almost 3 weeks ago. He’s not sick or injured, per se, but he’s become a bit cage crazy. Also he was bowl aggressive when we tried to give him a pup of same age and size as a roommate. To top it all off, he was getting nippy with people’s clothing. He apparently hadn’t had much training in bite inhibition and had left bruises on a few people. And he’s been going through a fear stage that leads him to bark and growl at anyone or anything new.