ANOTHER new member!

Please tell us about yourself! You will not be able to post on the rest of the board until you have posted here

Postby demolitionic » November 30th, 2007, 8:31 pm

Hello there everyone!

My name is Amanda, I'm a massage therapist here in Houston.

Quite few years ago, my older sister brought home a skinny, dirty, malnourished, PREGNANT, underfed, shy but tail-waggin', red nose pit bull. She became Brandy Lynn - our first rescue, and the best introduction to the pit bull world a girl could ask for. Our sweet Brandy was showing all of her ribs and vertebrae, to the extent that you could lay fingers in between them. She had fighting scars on her face, neck, shoulders, etc. and a couple of cigar burn marks on her hindquarters. She weighed 36 pounds.

My father, who has since passed away, was an AVID dog lover, but being a hunter, we'd always had hunting dogs. My sister and I had been raised with them (and I mean raised - "dog sitter" isn't someone who babysits dogs, it's a dog who watches the babies) our entire lives, so dogs and dog behavior was nothing new to us.

The first thing out of my dad's mouth was "Elizabeth, where did you get a red nosed pit bull? Christ Almighty, look at her. Let's get her cleaned up and fed."

... And that was the end of it. We all melted. These bright amber eyes held the most intelligence I have ever seen sparkle in a dog's face. She just knew. She'd never received attention in her life that wasn't negative. After failing as a fighter, she was beaten and starved in attempts to prod her into viciousness, and when that failed, turned into a breeder. But one kind word, and you'd have to hop out of the way of her tail, cuz man, that thing could've leveled a building when she was excited. She picked up on everything quickly, was housebroken within a day or two, learned commands and tricks within minutes, and loved nothing more than a good snuggle.